The story of the London Hunt and Country Club is one of vision and commitment spanning over 130 years dating back to March 30, 1885 when a group of stalwart equestrians formally organized civilian hunting buffs into the London Hunt Club. Over the years, amenities such as golf, tennis, trap and skeet and fitness were added to enhance the Membership experience.
With a history of its Members excelling in business, athletic and charitable arenas it’s no wonder the Club continues to host guests from all over the world. As you will learn in looking through more than twelve decades of history, times change, but our commitment to providing Members with the most exceptional Membership experience offered does not.
The origin of the London Hunt may be traced back to the city's "garrison period", and is popularly cited as May 9, 1843. On that day a famous military steeplechase took place that dramatically illustrated local interest in equestrian sports, including foxhunting, which had begun in this area during the previous autumn.
1885 – 1950
It was actually on March 30, 1885, though, that the London Hunt Club was formally organized. Hound Kennels and a Clubhouse were soon established in converted farm buildings on Western Road at the present site of the Federal Agricultural Institute. Other early activities of the Club included lawn tennis, bowling and archery. By the turn of the century the Club had moved to a nearby location at the corner of what is now Richmond Street and Windermere Road, and with the provision of a 9-hole golf links was re-designated in 1904 as The London Hunt and Country Club. Tennis was revived in 1906 when two grass courts were constructed. In 1917 the golf course was expanded to 18 holes through the lease of a portion of the adjoining new campus which had been acquired by The University of Western Ontario. The tennis courts were abandoned in 1930 in order to convert the space into a parking lot for the increasing number of vehicles at the Club. Two years later trapshooting was introduced as an off-season activity.
1950 – 2015
In 1951, because of the encroachment of residential development surrounding the London Hunt's property, the Hunt Kennels were moved to a new location east of Hyde Park. In 1965 the same reason forced the Hunt to move to its present location, the north east corner of the Denfield Side Road and the Sixth Concession Road of London Township. Aware that Western's expansion during the 1950's would eventually jeopardize its course, the Club purchased from the London Health Association some 275 acres (111 hectares) at the west end of Oxford Street. Robert Trent Jones designed a 27-hole golf course, 18 of which were completed in 1959. The following spring the Hunt Club moved to its present attractive setting. In 1970 tennis courts were constructed and the game rapidly proved popular with a large number of Members again. In 2000, the golf course was renovated by Rees Jones, son of original designer Robert Trent Jones and in the fall of 2014 the Club underwent its largest renovation which was completed in 2015 and included the addition of a terrace, new restaurant, fitness studio and facility, new locker rooms and a new Pro Shop.